Glenn Gawdin Named Team MVP Amongst 2016-17 Broncos Award Winners

Darwin Knelsen

The Swift Current Broncos announced their 2016-17 Awards Winners on Fan Appreciation Night and were recognized for their efforts over the course of the 50th Season in franchise history.

Pioneer Co-op’s Most Improved Player: Sahvan Khaira

RBC Dominion Securities Chairman of the Boards: Glenn Gawdin

Charlotte Letkeman Memorial Award for desire and sportsmanship: Kaden Elder

Western Financial Group Players most popular player trophy: Jordan Papirny

Pattison Agriculture King of the Road Award for the top performer on the road: Lane Pederson

Swift Sanitary Services fans most popular player: Tyler Steenbergen

Al Stewart, Governor of the Swift Current Broncos presented cash awards to the top three stars of the season. 3rd star of the season went to Glenn Gawdin. 2nd star of the season was awarded to Aleksi Heponiemi. The first star of the season went to top scorer Tyler Steenbergen.

Stark and Marsh Chartered Accountants for top defenceman: Max Lajoie

Trophy Towne award for Most Sportsmanlike Player: Tyler Steenbergen

Gordon May Memorial Trophy for top scholastic achievement: Dom Schmiemann

Innovation Credit Union Coaches Award: Glenn Gawdin and Max Lajoie

Swift Current Hockey Hounds Humanitarian: Conner Chaulk.

MacBean Tessem Trophy for Top Scorer: Tyler Steenbergen

Standard Motors rookie of the year: Aleksi Heponiemi

Warren’s Funeral Home award for leadership and maturity: Ryan Graham..

Julie Forst Memorial Award for MVP: Glenn Gawdin

Furthermore, the Broncos saluted their three overage players riley Lindgren, Ryan Graham and Jordan Papirny. They each received a special portrait that has several action shots of their WHL playing career and had a picture taken with Broncos Governor Al Stewart.

Broncos playoff tickets are currently on sale. Visit the Stable during box office hours, call 306-773-1509 or purchase tickets online at

More News
Broncos give up four unanswered in loss to Rebels
4 mins ago
Gallery: Warriors (2) vs. Broncos (4)
2 days ago
Broncos pull even with Moose Jaw atop WHL's East Division
3 days ago
Boston Pizza Post Game Show Highlights: Artyom Assists and Skinner Saves Help Broncos Beat Warriors
3 days ago
Manny in the Morning: Game Day vs Moose Jaw
4 days ago
Broncos collapse late but earn point against Tigers
7 days ago