Broncos and Hurricanes set for Back-to-Back Affair

The Swift Current Broncos and Lethbridge Hurricanes will square off for a pair of pre-season matchups this weekend beginning Friday, Sept. 8th at the ENMAX Centrium in Lethbridge. Puck drop is 7:00pm. Then the Broncos will host their lone pre-season game on Sunday evening against the Hurricanes at Fairview Arena with puck drop also slated for 7:00pm.

Admission to Sunday’s game at Fairview is free of charge. Seating availability is limited and will be a first-come, first-serve basis.

Swift Current enters the weekend with a 1-2-0-0 record while Lethbridge is winless, going 0-2-0-0.

Special Teams: The Broncos power play unit is clicking at a 20.0% rate (4/20), while the penalty kill ranks ninth overall, posting an 81.2% success rate.

Lethbridge is two-for-ten on the man advantage and their penalty killĀ is at 78.6%, good enough for 12th in the WHL in both categories.

Who to Watch: Logan Barlage is tied for first in team scoring with three points (1g-2a) in three games. Goaltenders Bailey Brkin and Joel Hofer are battling it out for the backup goaltending job. Hofer currently possesses a 1-1-0 record to go along with a 2.01 goals against average and a .930 save percentage. Brkin is 0-1-0 in one start and has a 5.00 goals against average along with a .872 save percentage.

Game Winners: Barlage owns the lone game-winning-goal from August 29th’s 4-0 shutout victory over the Moose Jaw Warriors in the annual rookie game.

Players to watch for 2018 NHL Draft: Riley Stotts has cracked’s list of 2018 NHL Draft prospects.

Drafted Broncos: Aleksi Heponiemi was selected in the second round by the Florida Panthers, 40th overall in the 2017 NHL Draft. Tyler Steenbergen was drafted by the Arizona Coyotes in the fifth round, 128th overall in the 2017 NHL Draft.

The Roster: The Broncos have 29 players on their roster.

Imports are Aleksi Heponiemi from Finland and Artyom Minulin from Russia.

Five 1997’s (20-year-olds): Glenn Gawdin, Arthur Miller, Conner Chaulk, Brandan Arnold and Taz Burman

Seven 1998’s: Kaden Elder, Kole Gable, Tyler Steenbergen, Colby Sissons, Artyom Minulin, Sahvan Khaira and Matthew Stanley

Nine 1999’s: MacKenzie Wight, Josh Baker, Aleksi Heponiemi, Logan Foster, Tanner Mole, Dom Schmiemann, Jake Hobson, Noah King and Bailey Brkin

Six 2000’s: Riley Stotts, Ethan Regnier, Owen Blocker, Quinton Waitzner, Christian Reimer and Joel Hofer

Two 2001’s: Logan Barlage and Connor Horning


More News
Prospect Profile: Reid Dyck
2 weeks ago
402 WHL Scholarships Awarded to Graduate Players for 2019-20 Academic Year
2 weeks ago
Broncos sign Liam Saxberg to WHL Standard Player Agreement
2 weeks ago
Broncos sign Grayson Burzynski to WHL Standard Player Agreement
3 weeks ago
Broncos sign Rylan Gould to WHL Standard Player Agreement
3 weeks ago
Prospect Profile: Karson King
3 weeks ago